Een golf in de golf stopt de golf (Working from home 4 – Dutch lessons)

mini golf course leaves Stresa 1119.jpg (Minigolf course, Stresa on the Borromean Gulf, November 2019)

My employer is keeping on our Dutch lessons during the lockdown – on Zoom, where else? I’m glad, I love this language. Delightfully, the problem with the sentence “Een golf in de golf stopt de golf” is not the repetition of “golf” – it means wave, gulf and golf, a wave in the gulf stops the golf – but the fact that you can’t start a sentence with “een”. Under the fierce word order rules, you must start with something that receives emphasis. “Een” means “A”; indefinite nouns don’t count.

Last Wednesday I joined the lesson a bit late. The class was crying out “objects I have in my kitchen” with an enthusiasm that perhaps reflects our reduced horizons these recent weeks. In my notebook I have written down the names of more than fifty. I now have a word for a “spoon with holes” (for lifting poached eggs out of the pan) in Dutch – schuimspaan – even though I don’t have one in English.

P4120109.JPG

Now it’s Easter weekend. I’ve been encouraging my team to make weekends different from working days and holidays different from weekends. No-Travel-Companion and I are trying to do the same. Today as we sat on the settee I read nearly a whole book (Kevin Barry’s Night boat to Tangier) in one go. I feel like I ate a whole box of chocolates.

PS I am of course rather pleased with myself for finding a photo that includes waves, a gulf and golf. That weekend on Lake Maggiore it bucketed down. If the minigolf course had been just a bit lower the waves could even have stopped the golf, as they stopped the use of benches at Ispra on the opposite side of the lake:

high water benches trees from hotel europa ispra 1119 3.JPG

PPS In deciding whether to rely on any assertions this post may make about the Dutch language, please take into account that I’ve only been learning it for just over a year. Love can be hard of hearing.

Published by

Paul Hodson

Interested in writing, games, history, travel, languages, Europe, politics... "I want to explore... I'm not doing this for any other reason than to see what I can produce - and can that be of worth... to people." - PJ Harvey, 2004

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.